Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Bench Talk / Off The Wire

Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame


By Fred Wallace


The Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame has made their selections for the 2010 Induction Ceremony.

The Inductees for this term of the Hall of Fame include two teams and 4 athletes.

Actually, the two teams are really one, the Owen Sound van Dolder Home Team Woodsmen of 2008 & 2009.

By virtue of the criteria of the Owen Sound Sports Hall, the Woodsmen were automatic selections based on winning back to back Provincial and Canadian Championships in Senior Lacrosse.

The four athletes, in alphabetical order, are Robert " Bud " Harron, Kimberley Johnson, Randy " Rooster " McMillen plus Allan J. Walker who is a special merit inductee.

The four athletes being inducted are certainly deserving

Harron coached forever following his sporting days.

McMillen was a heart & soul competitor for many lacrosse teams at many levels.

Johnson may have been the most accomplished basketball player, female or male, to play in the city.

And Walker's legacy in harness racing remains vibrant and continues on a daily basis.

Tickets for the Induction Night can be obtained from any Hall of Fame committee member.

The 2010 Induction Ceremony is Friday May 7th at the Harry Lumley-Bayshore Community Center.

I'm Fred Wallace

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc