Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Bench Talk / Off The Wire

Awards & Honours


By Fred Wallace

 Hi, this is Fred Wallace with " Off the Wire ".


A number of athletes plus a prominent sports organization in our broadcast region will be saluted later this month at separate events.

From a performance standpoint, 7 members of the Saugeen Track & Field Club have been chosen, based on results and performances throughout the 2019 season, as Athletics Ontario " All Ontarians ".

Six throwers from the club were selected, 3 each in both Men's & Women's Throws

Billie Martin along with Michelle & Hanna Van Stuyvenberg were the 3 ladies chosen from the Saugeen Track & Field Club.

The All-Ontarians from the Men's division for STFC were Benjamin Brewer, Ryan Jacklin & Jeremy Elliott.

Josh Farrell of the Saugeen Track & Field Club was also selected for the Men's Para Field category while a long time member of the club, Earl Fee was also named to the All Ontarian list.

These athletes will be presented with certificates at the 2019 Athletics Ontario Awards Gala and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Saturday October 19th at the Holiday Inn at Toronto's International Airport

Meanwhile, the Western Ontario Athletic Association staged their Annual General Meeting a week ago and handed out three significant awards.

The O.M. Mike Weichel Honour Award recipient for 2019 was Randy Alton from Lucknow.

The David H. Jacobi Memorial President’s Award recipient was Dave Garinger of Owen Sound.

And Teeswater's Mac Fisher was presented with the Donald & Mary Gravett Memorial Bursary Award 

Along with the awards & election results, the WOAA also announced that they will be inducted into the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame  to receive the Sandy Hawley Community Service Award.

That induction ceremony will take place Monday, October 21st, 2019 at the Sheraton Centre Hotel in Toronto.

Congratulations to the Saugeen Track & Field All-Ontarians & to the Western Ontario Athletic Association for their various achievements and awards.


I'm Fred Wallace

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc