Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Bench Talk / Off The Wire

The Inductees


By Fred Wallace


Hi, this is Fred Wallace with " Off the Wire. "

The Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame announced their inductees for 2018.

Six athletes, 3 builders, 3 teams and 1 special merit award will be part of the formal induction ceremony on Friday May 4th at the Harry Lumley-Bayshore Community Centre.

The Athletes to be inducted this year include Olympic skier Larisa Yurkiw, National Wheelchair Rugby player Jason Crone, the legendary Clarence " Hap " Day, Patti Davey plus Jeff Reid and Joe McCrea who were multiple sport athletes, notably hockey & lacrosse.

The 3 inductees into the Builders Category will be Raymond Thompson, Chris Fernando & Mark Berner plus James ' Bud ' Nuttall will be honoured with a Special Merit award.

Finally, there are 3 teams to be inducted for 2018; 2 fastball entries plus the 2011 Ontario Hockey League Champion Owen Sound Attack.

The two fastball inductees are separated by more than a half century; the 1965 Owen Sound Bay Motor Hotel Softball Ontario Champions and the 2016 Shallow Lake Sting who won the Canadian Bantam Championship Tournament at Duncan McLellan Park in thrilling fashion.

Again, the induction ceremonies are set for Friday May 4th at the Harry Lumley-Bayshore Community Centre.

With the number of inductees and the span of time that encompasses those inductees, I'd suggest getting your tickets sooner, rather than later.

I'm Fred Wallace

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc